Tuesday, September 3, 2013

2013 Hugo Award Winners Announced!

In the midst of all of the excitement that takes place here in Atlanta during DragonCon, where all things science fiction and fantasy, including comic books, gaming, literature, art, film and music convene, the prestigious Hugo Awards were announced. Named after Hugo Gernsback, a famous magazine editor who did much to bring science fiction to a wider audience, the Hugo Awards have been presenting awards of excellence in the genres of science fiction and fantasy literature since 1953. On Sunday, Septemeber 1, the 2013 list of winners in all categories was selected. All winners and their works are listed below, so take this list to the library catalog and lose yourself in other worlds! 

BEST NOVEL : Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, John Scalzi (Tor)
BEST NOVELLA: The Emperor’s Soul, Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)
BEST NOVELETTE: The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi, Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)
BEST SHORT STORY: Mono no Aware, Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)
BEST RELATED WORK: Writing Excuses Season Seven, Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Jordan Sanderson
BEST GRAPHIC STORY: Saga, Volume One, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, LONG FORM: The Avengers, (Screenplay) & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)
BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, SHORT FORM: Game of Thrones, Blackwater, Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
BEST EDITOR, LONG FORM: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
BEST SEMIPROZINE: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker
BEST FANZINE: SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
BEST FANCAST: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters) and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
BEST FAN WRITER: Tansy Rayner Roberts
JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD FOR BEST NEW WRITER: Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2011 or 2012, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

1 comment: